2023 National AFL Masters Champions Mon, October 16, 2023 - 9:27 AM

During the recent National AFL Masters Carnival in Maroochydore WA was successful in winning 2 titles, the Women’s Over 40s Division 1 and Men’s Over 50s Division 1. (photos attached). Both teams won all three games across the week by playing team football with high pressure tackling and fluent footskills.


WA also had longest kick winner in the 40s Womens by Danielle Fagents with a booming kick of  37 metres and Michael Ferritto in Mens Over 55s with 47metres, with John Isaacson winning the 100m sprint in Mens 35s competition.


Ernest Sharpe won the Men’s 50s Division 1 EJ Whitten Best and Fairest Medal, and Debbie Ward won the Susan Alberti Bets and Fairest Medal for Womens oVer 40s Division 1


Included in the final Presentation Night the 2024 National Carnival location was announced to be Fremantle in WA.


Western Australia was represented by 12 teams, 3 women’s and 9 men’s teams, with 347 participants and a Touring Party in excess of 420 people, the second largest number behind Queensland the host state.


Continuing the tradition of naming State Most Valuable Players medals after significant contributions from volunteers within WA, this year we named the Golden Oldies Over 65s Mens Most Valuable Player Medal after Garry Ross, former State President and long time carnival participant, who has worked tirelessly to ensure the aging mens players have a competition to play in, albeit a little slower and less physical.

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.